Ya’ Think? ‘Child With Autism May Affect Family Income’

Child With Autism May Affect Family Income.

This is the headline from many different sites from the past couple of days. Don’t get me wrong, I think it’s great that they are studying how poor we all are. Wait. That sounded bad. But really, was there really any doubt?

The staggering effects of having one child with autism go far beyond finances and stress-loads. It’s a socio-economic crisis as more and more children are being diagnosed. How many families are like ours, with two or even three children on the spectrum? Out of those diagnosed, how many are severely autistic, requiring more interventions, therapies, household costs, additional budgetary concerns, and the list goes on.

I recognize the importance of researchers needing verifiable data upon which to base further research. I do. How about we consider their statistics and compare them with the National averages? Hm. I guess that’s something I could do.

But then again, I have three little guys who are autistic. I have more important things to do than verify how dismally my income compares with National averages, much less how many of my peers are in the trenches with me — tired, poor, and maybe just a little overwhelmed.

Leave a comment

Filed under Advocacy, Autism, Family, Parenting, Questioning, Research, Special Needs, venting

Leave a Reply

